Some of my new favorite recipes

1.) This homemade brownie recipe from Smitten Kitchen: http://smittenkitchen.com/blog/2012/08/my-favorite-brownies/

I discovered this recipe when I made her Salted Caramel Brownies for Valentine’s day (pictured),

Imagewhich were also really delicious, but a lot of work because of the making, freezing, cutting and combining of the caramel.  Before I added the caramel component I tasted the batter and knew I would be making at least the basic brownie again.  When I did (I have since made them 3 times)- I found that they require minimal effort, less than 15 minutes and 1 bowl to make– and they are so much better than the stuff you buy in the box.

2.) The Pioneer Woman’s Sunday Night Stew with Mashed potatoes.  This stew is so delicious and rich.  You serve it in a bowl next to some really thick mashed potatoes and let the juices run all over.  You should make this stew: http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2013/01/sunday-night-stew/

3.) Homemade Avocado ranch from How Sweet Eats- This stuff is good on everything.  Next time I will make it with an extra half of an avocado though, for a little more avocado flavor: http://www.howsweeteats.com/2013/02/cheesy-double-bean-quesadillas-with-homemade-avocado-ranch/

4.) Chicken Pot Pie Soup with Cheesy Biscuits-  This soup is really filling, loaded with Imagevegetables and tastes like chicken pot pie. Also, it’s probably more healthy than actual chicken pot pie if you exercise some biscuit-portion-control.  I put carrots, celery, onions, potatoes, mushrooms, corn and peas in ours and omitted the leeks.  In the recipe she uses store-bought puff pastry but I decided to make our favorite cheese biscuits instead.  To make the biscuits combine 1 1/2 cups Bisquick, 3/4 cup chicken stock, 4 oz. cheese (we like Monterrey Jack or Pepper Jack) 1/4 tsp. salt, and 1/4 tsp. pepper. Use two greased soupspoons to place 12 heaping mounds onto a greased baking sheet.  Bake at 450 degrees for 15-20 minutes until golden: http://www.howsweeteats.com/2012/12/chicken-pot-pie-soup/

Leave a Reply

