God has been teaching me so much lately about what it means to bear another’s burdens, especially my husbands. One of the joys of marriage is listening to your spouse’s cares, concerns, fears, dreams and offering appropriate and heartfelt encouragement, comfort or correction. I have benefited tremendously from the loving encouragement, comfort and correction of my sweet husband. But by God’s grace, I have recently felt that my words alone are not enough to comfort or encourage my husband and in seeking godly counsel God has shown me and encouraged me to stop talking and start praying. The sweet woman I nanny for let me borrow the book, The power of a Praying Wife, and God has used it show me that bearing my husband’s burdens does not merely mean listening and responding (even if my response is God glorifying) but diligently lifting up all of these things to our Heavenly Father who loves us and cares for us.

“Humble yourselves, therefore, under the mighty hand of God so that at the proper time He may exalt you, casting all your anxieties on Him, because He cares for you.” – 1 Peter 5: 6-7

“…do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.” -Philippians 4:6

“And my God will supply every need of yours according to His riches in glory in Christ Jesus. To our God and Father be glory forever and ever. Amen.” -Philippians 4:19-20

God has been using prayer to grow my faith in Him and His promises. I am so encouraged by His word that reminds me that He is a good and loving Father who hears my requests and answers them according to His will which I believe is my good.

“Or which one of you, if his son asks him for bread, will give him a stone? Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a serpent? If you then, who are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father who is in heaven give good things to those who ask Him!”
-Matthew 7:9-10

