Today little girl and I were taking a walk around the nearby lake when something odd happened.  A sweet older lady who had been observing me and baby came up and told me that she had been observing me and upon seeing my joy she wanted to know why I was so happy.  She asked where I was from stating that she believed where you live has a huge impact on your happiness, and I proceeded to share with her how God saved my life several years ago and that this is the cause for any true rejoicing in my heart.

I told her that ten years ago someone shared with me that God exists and not only that but He is a Holy and Righteous God who sees everything, including all the bad things I have done in my life.  God is a Righteous Judge and like any good judge He must punish sin ( “the wages of sin is death”- Romans 6:23).  But God has provided a means of salvation for us in His Son Jesus.  Jesus lived a holy and perfect life and died not for His own sin ( “He was tempted in every way as we are, yet without sin”- Hebrews 4:15) but for ours ( “He Himself bore our sins in his body on the tree, that we might die to sin and live to righteousness. By His wounds you have been healed.”- 1 Peter 2:24).

To know Christ is true and eternal joy. ( “joy inexpressible” 1 Peter 1:8).

God used this conversation to convict my heart that often when things are going well in my life I am content to find my happiness in things far less glorious than Christ.  In difficult circumstances, I am much more eager to cling to Christ and fight for joy in Him but when things are going well I do not examine my heart as often to see where my hope lies.  I pray that by His grace my heart will rejoice continuously (Philippians 4:4) not because things are going well in my life (if and when they are) but because Christ is alive, seated at the right hand of God and all authority in heaven and on earth has been given to Him! (Matthew 28:18)

