We have been busy lately… traveling, spending time with family and friends and getting sick with a terrible virus that lasted over a week :(.   Also, I have been working on testing out some new recipes and old ones as freezer meals using the book Don’t Panic- Dinner’s in the Freezer, as my main resource for freezer technique and several delicious recipes!  It is a pretty awesome book– I have been pleased with all the recipes I have tried and feel more competent in my freezer cooking abilities after reading it.

One of the meals I have adapted to a freezer meal is our favorite enchilada recipe from Skinny Taste (http://www.skinnytaste.com/2010/02/chicken-enchiladas.html#more).   According to Don’t Panic… you can make the entire casserole as the directions state and then freeze it to reheat it later but I decided for freshness sake I would make the enchilada chicken filling and the sauce and freeze each separately to later thaw and then ensemble the dish.

I doubled the recipe and we had some that night:

Delicious chicken mixture that goes inside the enchiladas.

Another freezer meal success was a recipe from the Don’t Panic book.  These wings were so simple and so delicious.  I made 2 lbs. for dinner tonight and froze the remaining 2 lbs. and sauce for later.  I also had to make some extra sauce for basting at the end.  I used this video (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lnahgARLdsU) to learn how to cut the wings because this was my first time cooking with them.

Kansas City Hot Wings:

Recipe from Don’t Panic- Dinner’s in the Freezer

4 lbs. chicken wings

1/2 cup cider vinegar

1 T. Tabasco sauce

1 cup Kraft Original Barbecue Sauce

Rinse chicken wings in cold water.  Mix together vinegar, Tabasco sauce, and barbecue sauce.  Place chicken and mixture together in a freezer bag and freeze.  Thaw chicken in the fridge the day before cooking.

On cooking day, preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Line a baking pan with foil.  Drain chicken wings, reserved remaining sauce.  Arrange wings on foil-lined pan and bake for 30 minutes.  Remove from oven and increase the temperature to low-broil.  Baste wings with remaining sauce and return to oven.  Broil for up to 30 minutes, turning and basting wings every 5 minutes, until crispy.

