This is was my first time making homemade bread by myself and I don’t think I could have picked a better recipe- this loaf was phenomenal!  This bread is kneaded by hand so I am really thankful that the lady I nanny for has baked bread with me before and taught me how to knead and ‘throw’ the dough by hand (if you don’t have experience doing this I am happy to show you :)). The recipe calls for a wood pizza peel and some cornmeal to keep the bread from sticking.  Because I didn’t have either I lined a baking sheet with aluminum rubbed with some olive oil and it worked just fine!  The only other adaptations I made were to make the egg wash with a tablespoon of olive oil instead of water and to sprinkle salt on top along with the Rosemary.  It was wonderful hot out of the oven by itself or served with olive oil and black pepper for dipping.  I estimated the total cost for this loaf to be approximately 1 dollar (using dried Rosemary).  The cost could be further reduced by buying the yeast in bulk.

Here’s where you can find the recipe:

http://www.ahintofhoney.com/2011/04/rosemary-olive-oil-bread.html

Hope you will try it!

 

 

