This soup is amazing.  I first pinned this recipe from How Sweet Eats a month ago and never actually looked at the recipe (typical).  When I finally looked at the recipe today I HAD to make it.  The base of the soup is onion, red bell pepper and garlic sauteed in bacon grease, then add 2 cups of beer, and almost a pound of cheese and boom. the most amazing soup I have ever eaten.   If you like beer you should try this soup.

*I used an Amber ale although she recommended a pale ale simply because this seasonal brew is my favorite and I think it gave it a really rich flavor.  Also, at the end I added an extra 1/3 cup of half and half and a tsp. of salt.  Next time I make it I am hoping to serve it with these homemade pretzel rolls for dipping- http://www.mylifeasamrs.com/2012/01/salted-pretzel-rolls.html

I used 2 cups of this:

and ended up with this delicious pot of cheesy goodness:

You can find the recipe and some pictures that do this soup justice here:

http://www.howsweeteats.com/2012/09/beer-cheese-soup/

