The lady I nanny for makes homemade chicken stock using the leftover bones from a whole turkey (after thanksgiving) or a rotisserie chicken.  She places it in a large stock pot filled with water for several hours with vegetables, salt and pepper and herbs.  Since I am at work during the week making broth in the crock-pot was really appealing.  Also, I like that this recipe uses boneless, skinless chicken breasts that you can shred to use in salads, enchiladas, soups, whatever.

All you need are some boneless,  skinless chicken breasts, a couple stalks of celery, a tomato (quartered), an onion (quartered), a few cloves of garlic, fresh cilantro or parsley, 3 bay leaves,  a handful of baby carrots and some salt and pepper.   You just dump everything in the crock-pot,  fill it with water and cook it on low for 8 hours or high for 3-4 hours.

1358817505751

Recipe: http://www.skinnytaste.com/2010/02/homemade-chicken-stock-from-your-crock.html

When I made it this week I used some of the broth and all of the chicken for Chicken Tortilla Soup and I froze the rest of the broth to use later.

